1921: founded by Mr. Tan Kah Kee
1937: received its charter as a public university
1952: designated a comprehensive university for natural and social sciences
1963: designated a national key university
1986: initial trials of XMU Graduate School
1995: listed under the State “211 project”
2000: listed under the State “985 Project”
2004: granted status of “National Vice-Ministerial Level University”
2017: listed under the state "Double First-class" Initiative